Butterflies in the Sky…brary! A Reading Rainbow update

Reading rainbow logo I can go anywhere I can be anything butterflies in the sky yeah!

Credit/Reading Rainbow

Hello, my dear readers!

As those of you who have checked out my blog in the past may know, I’m a fan of the old show Reading Rainbow and promoted their Kickstarter last year.

Here’s a brief recap before the latest development. The campaign’s initial goal was to bring the series back online and deliver it for free to schools across the US.

The initial financial goal for the project was to raise $1 million. One year and 100,000-plus backers and more than $5 million raised later, Reading Rainbow introduces the Skybrary!

The Skybrary features hundreds of digital books for children ages 2 to 9 along with more than 150 video field trips to inspire children to go anywhere and be anything!

LeVar Burton, the show’s host, narrates each book. When a child opens one of the books, they have the option to listen to the story, to read along or to read by themselves, depending on their skill levels. Each book features interactive animations, hearkening back to the days of the CD-ROM books of the ’90s.

The site, much to my delight, offers old episodes of the show’s initial run as well.

Users of the Skybrary can sign up for an initial 14-day trial, and there are three subscription packages starting at $9.99 per month.

By the way, The $9.99 package is called the Voyager. I see what you did there, Mr. Burton.

Anyway, it’s so cool to see this site up and online. To me, it grows more and more important each day to keep kids engaged in reading. Reading opens whole new worlds to children, broadens their horizons and exercises their minds.

An expanded imagination and a hunger to learn are invaluable resources to a child, and there’s no telling what could come just by giving them the chance to read.

If you’re a parent yourself, based on what the show’s done for me and who knows how many others, I’d really recommend giving it a go. Give your kids a passport to the world of the Reading Rainbow!

“I was overwhelmed; I did not expect that sort of outpouring. In retrospect, people have said, ‘Are you kidding? There are so many adults who grew up with the show.’ But I never tried to quantify the size or the generosity of that generation. I underestimated the power, the strength of the brand. My takeaway has been, I’m grateful, absolutely, beyond measure, and really proud.”

– LeVar Burton, Host of Reading Rainbow for 25 years.

What educational shows did you watch as a kid? Discuss in the comments below! 

Be sure to check out my portfolio and professional site here

My freelancing e-book, Dip Into the Ink Pot, is now available on Amazon by clicking here!
Don’t forget to like, comment and subscribe to the blog if you like what you see, and I’ll talk to you next week!

– Adam

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

