A Fiverr Problem

fiverr logo

Hello, my dear readers!

Hope this week finds you well.

As much as Fiverr has its flaws, I’ve come to find it’s been working out for my business quite nicely. In, face, lately, it’s the source of a majority of my projects.

However, I feel there’s been an issue on the site that’s come to a head lately. There’s a section called Buyer Requests. The section acts as a meeting hub for clients and sellers. The client writes a short description of the work they want done and the sellers have an opportunity to make offers.

The Fiverr team’s made a great deal of improvements to this particular section in recent months, and I really appreciate it.

However, what I do not appreciate as much is sellers using the Buyer Requests section as a way to advertise their work. Here’s what I mean.

This is a typical Buyer Request:

Request

This is a seller ad:

Ad

I don’t know how well this works for other sellers, but frankly I find it at the very least rude. For buyers, it crowds out the rightful place of their request. For sellers like me, we read through each ad to see if we can apply. By posting what amounts to be spam, you’re wasting my time. And since time is money, you’re wasting my money.

It’s not the biggest problem in the world, but it’s an annoying one and I sincerely hope the Fiver admins have taken a look at what this particular section has become. It’s a nuisance, it’s unfair to seller and buyer alike and I really don’t think anyone who uses the site should stand for it.

Buyers of Fiverr, if you see these ads pop up along with your requests, please notify the site administrators. I don’t want to see sellers get banned necessarily; I just want the section cleaned up, and I’m sure you do, too.

Sellers of Fiverr, I’d really encourage you not to resort to this spam-like behaviour. I like getting ahead as much as the next guy, but there’s really no reason or profit to sharing your services this way. It hurts you, it hurts your fellow sellers and it could hurt the buyers we all rely on, too.

Ok, that’s my rant for the week. You may all go about your business and happy freelancing!

What do you think of sellers using the Buyer Requests section in this way? Discuss in the comments below!

Be sure to check out my portfolio and professional site here

My freelancing e-book, Dip Into the Ink Pot, is now available on Amazon by clicking here!
Don’t forget to like, comment and subscribe to the blog if you like what you see, and I’ll talk to you next week!

– Adam

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

